Committees 2010
  Call for papers
  Keynote Speakers
  Doctoral Consortium
  Key Dates
  Travel and Accomodation
  Contact us
  Spouse program
    Call for Proposal 2011


The Royal Library

The Danish Ministry
of Culture



Persuasive 2010
The 5th International Conference on Persuasive Technology

Design for Change

Call for Papers
The 5th International Conference on Persuasive Technology
June 7-9, 2010
Copenhagen, Denmark


Submission: https://www.softconf.com/a/persuasive2010/

Persuasive Technology is a young and vibrant research field, focusing on how interactive technologies may be used to create, maintain, or change human thought and behavior. Combining well-established research methods and traditions from epistemology, rhetoric, social psychology, communication, and information science with cutting-edge technologies brings about a special flavor characteristic of the Persuasive Technology conferences. The Copenhagen conference will build on the successful prior conferences held at Eindhoven, Stanford, Oulu, and Claremont. The Copenhagen conference will feature new insights, research and practice into how the development and use of technology may change and influence our behavior, thoughts, feelings and society at large. The conference is expected to gather researchers, practioners, students and other people interested in networking, presenting, discussing and reflecting on central themes associated with persuasive design and technology. Academics and practitioners with an interest in research, theory, technologies, design, and applications related to persuasion are invited to submit their work for presentation at Persuasive 2010. The conference is hosted by the Royal School of Library and Information Science in cooperation with Aalborg University and Oulu University and will be held at the Royal Library, which is situated in beautiful surroundings in central Copenhagen.

Conference themes
The Theme of the Persuasive Technology 2010 conference – Design for Change – points to the importance of combining theoretical and applied perspectives on persuasion. Themes of the conference include, but are not limited to:
  • Motivational technology and design
  • Smart environments
  • Mobile persuasion
  • Robotics and persuasion
  • Motivational information behavior
  • Wellbeing and health behavior
  • Social and organizational issues
  • Theoretical foundations of persuasion
  • Ethics of persuasive technology
  • Methodological issues
  • Persuasive systems design
  • e-Interventions for addictions
  • Evaluation of persuasive technology
  • Persuasive Technologies in inclusive ICT
  • Persuasive Technologies in Library and Information Science.
We accept submissions as full papers or posters.
  • Full papers are limited to 12 pages in Springer’s LNCS format.
  • Posters are limited to 4 pages in Springer’s LNCS format.
Information for LNCS Authors - click here



The electronic submission of the full paper or the poster in PDF format must be received on or before Friday February 12, 2010. All papers must be submitted through the following website https://www.softconf.com/a/persuasive2010/. In case you have any problems with the electronic submission, please contact the conference secretariat as early as possible at (mku@db.dk).

Reviewing for the Persuasive 2010 conference will be double-blinded. In order to stay anonymous to the reviewers no names or affiliations of the author(s) should be mentioned. When referring to one’s own work, use the third person, rather than the first person. For example, say “Previously, Newell (Newell 1996) has shown that...,” rather than “In our previous work (Newell 1996) we have shown that....” Try to avoid including any information in the body of the paper or document details (file information) and references that would identify the authors or their institutions. Such information may be added to the final camera-ready version for publication. Papers accepted for publication will appear in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series by Springer-Verlag (see http://www.springeronline.com/lncs). A precondition for publication (for all papers) is that the final version is in full compliance with Springer's format.

Key dates

  • New deadline: Full paper Submission: February 19, 2010
  • New deadline: Paper for poster Submission: February 19, 2010
  • Author notification: March 17, 2010
  • Final Version Submission: March 31, 2010
  • Conference: June 7-10, 2010
  • Doctoral consortium: June 5-6, 2010
  • General chair: Per Hasle, Royal School of Library and Information Science, Copenhagen
  • General co-chair: Harri Oinas-Kukkonen, Department of Information Processing Science, University of Oulu
  • Organizing chair: Jette Hyldegård, Royal School of Library and Information Science, Copenhagen
  • Programme chair: Thomas Ploug, Department for Communication, Aalborg University
  • Doctoral Consortium chair: Marianne Lykke, Royal School of Library and Information Science, Copenhagen
  • Conference secretary: Mette Kusk (mku@db.dk)
Scientific Program Committee (the list will be extended)
  • Per Hasle, Royal School of Library and Information Science
  • Thomas Ploug, Aalborg University
  • Harri Oinas-Kukkonen, Oulu University
  • Timothy Bickmore, Northeastern University
  • Robert Biddle, Carleton University 
  • Ian Bogost, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Harry Bruce, University of Washington
  • Winslow Burleson, Arizona State University
  • Pablo Lambert de Diesbach, Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne
  • Dean Eckles, Nokia Research Center
  • Pål Kraft, University of Oslo
  • Cees Midden, Technical University Eindhoven
  • Virpi Roto, Nokia, Finland
  • Timo Saari, Temple University
  • Julita Vassileva, University of Saskatchewa
  • Peter Øhrstrøm, Aalborg University
  • Stephen S. Intille, MIT
  • Peter de Vries, University of Twente
  • Fred Muench, CASA Columbia
  • Shlomo Berkovsky, CSIRO, Tasmania
  • Samir Chatterjee, Claremont Graduate University
  • Magnus Bång, Interactive Institute, Linköping
  • Nilufar Baghaei, CSIRO ICT Centre
  • Martha Russell, Stanford University
  • Judith Masthoff, University of Aberdeen
  • Wolfgang Reitberger, University of Salzburg
  • Janet Davis, Grinnell College
  • B.J. Fogg, Stanford University
  • Michael Wu, Lithium Technologies Inc
  • Jack Andersen, Royal School of Library and Information Science
  • Jason Tester, Institute for the Future
  • Rilla Khaled, IT University of Copenhagen
  • Jette Hyldegaard, Royal School of Library and Information Science
  • Henrik Schärfe, Aalborg University
  • Marianne Lykke, Royal School of Library and Information Science
Royal School of Library and Information Science – Birketinget 6 – DK-2300 Copenhagen S
Tel: +45 32 58 60 66 Contact persuasive2010(at)db.dk
Original website theme and logo designed by Katarina Segerståhl
Implementation and design revision for Persuasive 2010 by Ryan White and Bemerk